NPFL Ends With No Winner, no relegation or promotion – DiegwuSports

The News or Article published here is property of the given Source and they have all the ownership rights Source link

The 2020 NPFL season has come to end with the league declaring no winner, and no relegation or promotion.

  • Plateau United and Enyimba to play in the CAF Champions League
  • Rivers United and Kano Pillars will play in the CAF Confederations Cup
  • No relegation or promotion

DiegwuSports understands that the League Management Company who are the organizers of the league will make an announcement in the coming hours on that after the club owners voted in favor of the ending of the league.

Meanwhile, Plateau United, Enyimba, Rivers United, and Kano Pillars will be the four clubs to represent Nigeria in the 2020/2021 CAF competitions following the voting by the 17 Chairmen of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) clubs.

Using Point Per Game (PPG), Plateau United, Enyimba, and Rivers United are the first, second, and third teams on the NPFL log respectively.

Plateau United and Enyimba International will represent Nigeria in the CAF Champions League next season while 3rd placed Rivers United and 2018/19 Aiteo Cup champions, Kano Pillars will be contesting at the continent for the CAF Confederation title.

Chairmen of 17 Nigeria Professional Football League clubs on Sunday have voted to end the 2019/2020 season with the top 3 clubs representing Nigeria in CAF competition.

The vote which was conducted in Abuja on Sunday was one of the different options submitted by the Chairman of the League Management company to the Ministry of Sports.

17 clubs namely, Kwara United, Kano Pillars, Katsina United, Jigawa Golden Stars, Adamawa United, Wikki Tourist, Sunshine Stars, Enyimba, Warri Wolves, Abia Warriors, MFM, Nasarawa United, FC Ifeanyi Ubah, Dakkada FC, Heartland, Rivers United, and Plateau United all voted to end the season with the top 3 clubs to represent the country via PPG (Point Per Game) with no Relegation and Promotion.

Meanwhile, Enugu Rangers agreed for the season to end but voted for Super 6 to hold to determine those that will represent Nigeria in the continent while Akwa United and Lobi Stars abstained from voting.

The Chairman of the League Management Company, LMC Shehu Dikko earlier proposed the option of Super 6 for the top 6 clubs through PPG but it seems the 2019/2020 season has come to an end with Sunday voting by the NPFL clubs.

Plateau United, Enyimba, and Rivers United finished in top after using points per game (PPG) while Kano Pillars were awarded the 2020 Aiteo Cup as the defending champions.

No date was mentioned on when the 2020-21 season will resume.

(function(d, s, id)
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); = id;
js.src = “”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));


Source link

Show More

Hanzala Iltaf

Hey, I am Hanzala Altaf Manager of Usama Younus Inc. I am a Student. I'm very passionate about news and sports stuff. I also love to watch movies and cartoon type of stuff.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button